Hummus Mediterranean Cafe.

1 Aug

I normally eat at Greek house whenever I’m feeling Mediterranean food, but lately I’ve been getting bored of their food. They don’t really have a big menu either, so I can’t really order anything different to excite my taste buds. Don’t get me wrong or anything, their food is delicious! It’s reasonably priced for a college student like me and the portion they give me is always too much for me. I’ve never finished my food here and I always order the child’s plate. Bad Kathy, wasting food is bad.

Even though I was slightly bored with the Mediterranean food at Greek house, I was still craving Mediterranean food overall! Luckily for me, I found this cute little place in Moore, Hummus Mediterranean café. Well, I didn’t technically discover it myself. It was my friends Ann and Anna who suggest that we’d go there to eat!  This was my FIRST time here at the time and it was starting off with this refreshing drink!

Mint lemonade. $3

Mint lemonade. $3

Walking in, you’ll see that the place has a bit classy touch to it. They had quite a unique menu and it was big enough to cause me to be indecisive. As our server was taking our order, I noticed that she had her iPod out the entire time while trying to take our order. I thought it was a little weird until she explained to us that it is a lot faster this way, because she was sending our order to the kitchen already. It was pretty nifty after all. Our server was very nice! She could have smiled more, but that’s okay. I don’t know why I’m so obsessed with smiles when it comes to servers. We mainly ordered a bunch of appetizers, because my friends are vegan! They couldn’t really eat the main entrees. A lot of the appetizers were vegan material. The wait wasn’t so bad, because the restaurant wasn’t too busy.

We ordered two different hummus’ as our appetizer. The first one called the Muhammara was so good. I fell in love with this appetizer and from that day on, I would find myself craving this on random days. I would literally get full off of this.

Muhammara. $5

Muhammara. $5

The second one was good too! The pine nuts hummus had a soft peanut taste to it. I would still order this too, but I like the Muhammara way too much. Maybe when I get bored with the Muhammara one day, I’ll order it.

Pine nuts hummus. $5

Pine nuts hummus. $5

I’ve never had falafel before, so I can’t really judge. My first experience eating the falafel here was pretty good. I thought it was unique and the taste was pretty good, but it wasn’t impressive.

Falafel basket. $6

Falafel basket. $6

The last of our orders of appetizers has come to an end, the Zatar pie! To me, it wasn’t anything too special. It just tasted like a pizza to me, but without the cheese and the tomato sauce. Maybe it tasted more like a bread stick? A flavored bread stick?

Zatar pie. $5

Zatar pie. $5

 

 

My second visit was with my boyfriend. I actually wanted to try the main entrees and other things off the menu. Our server was a little awkward the second time. I think he was just trying to start a conversation with us, but we had no idea what to say back to him. Still, he was nice. I ordered the fruit cocktail and I thought it was delicious, but it was a little bit expensive too. It’s almost as if I was being charged of an alcohol beverage, but it’s not alcohol, it’s fruit.

The fruit cocktail. $6

The fruit cocktail. $6

My boyfriend was being weird by ordering a salad. It was a little funny, because usually it’s the opposite.
“I’m trying to eat healthy, babe.” Yeah, sure you are. The salad was a little bit expensive for the size. The boyfriend said it was good, but he also stated that he could make this salad that will last him over a week with only $10.

Fattoush salad. $5

Fattoush salad. $5

I really enjoyed this hummus too! It was a little plain, but you can still taste something else with the plainness.
I think I love all of their hummus.

Paprika hummus. $4

Paprika hummus. $4

My combination platter consisted of kofta and shish tawook. I haven’t tried these meats before and I thought it was delicious. The rice was also really good too! I don’t really remember what side of hummus I ordered, but it was good too! The food definitely filled me up and I didn’t finish it. That was when the boyfriend had to step in to finish my food. Boyfriends are very useful when you can’t finish your food.

The combo platter. $12

The combo platter. $12

Overall, I do like this place. I like it, because they have the Muhammara. Lord, I think I’m addicted. I honestly think they are the only place that have the Muhammara. Their other hummus’ is also really good. So, I’d definitely go back for the hummus. Their other entrees are pretty good, but we’ll see what I feel like eating that day. Yes, they are a little bit on the expensive side, but it’s still okay. Have a good evening!

P.S. They charge $1 for extra pita bread, which only comes with 4 slices of pita bread. Just saying.

Hummus on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

